top of page

Let's Get This Bread: Kristin Delfs


Background: Kristin Delfs is a restaurant-trained chef and baker, born and raised in Long Beach. After graduating from CSULB and working for a brief time in the non-profit sector, she decided to follow her passion for food and sustainable agriculture. She climbed her way through Michelin-star kitchens learning as much as she could, before making the decision to follow her life-long dream of opening a bakery cafe, Colossus Bread + Pastry (colossusbread.com) in her hometown.

How are you making an impact in Long Beach?

Our goal is simple: to make food and pastry that is special and delicious. If I can make my customers’ days just a little bit brighter, then I’m happy.

How has Long Beach shaped your world view?

I spent a good amount of my young adulthood wanting nothing more than to leave Long Beach. My family has been here for generations, and it just seemed like there was so much more to see. Getting away for a few years was formative for me, but it also left me yearning to come back. I missed the community I had here, and I missed my family. More than anything, I now felt as though I had something to offer back to that community. That was really the driving force behind me starting Colossus Bread + Pastry.

What is your vision for the future of Long Beach?

Things are changing so quickly here in Long Beach, it really is hard to keep up. My hope for Long Beach is that, despite this immense growth spurt we are experiencing, our sense of community is maintained. I hope that regardless of what institutions move in from outside, that we continue to support local talent and individuals doing positive work for the people of this city.


bottom of page